Posted on

Tennis for Kids: The Right Equipment Makes a Big Difference When You’re Playing 10 and Under Tennis

I remember when I was very young, and I was very focused on 10 and under tennis. It was my only hobby and after-school sport after I got out of elementary school class. USTA junior tennis was also something I was involved in. I remember purchasing kids tennis racquets with my mom. There is something so fun about starting tennis for the first time. I saw a lot of kids that I knew from school which made it easy to start up a tennis match with them when I got to practice. I was lucky because there were also reliable instructors on hand to help make those match-ups that were so fun to play.

Starting tennis when you’re young is the best way to do it. It is a great time to get a handle on the basics and learn the ropes. The USTA has made it even easier by launching a complete 10 and Under Tennis Program. You can really get a feel for what it’s like to be a tennis player, the excitement and joy of playing a match, when you’re younger and learning how to do the basic moves. When you’re young the stress of playing right isn’t too overwhelming, and it’s easier to really enjoy the sport and get the hang of it. USTA junior tennis is where it gets a little tougher. Luckily, junior tennis racquets are a bit cheaper than regular adult racquets. You have to continually purchase kids tennis racquets throughout your life as you’re growing up and changing size. It’s important that you always play with the right size racquet so that you can avoid injury and play your best.
I remember way back when I was a child, and we went to the store to get my first junior tennis racquet and shoes. My mother had played tennis throughout her entire life and she was a very good player. In addition to my instructors, she taught me a lot. Plus, she knew the importance of me having the right equipment and she was right: the proper size racquet completely changed my game.

I had a lot more fun when I was young and just learning how to play versus when I was a bit older and had to play in professional practice. If you have a kid who is interested in playing tennis the best advice that I can give you is to start him or her early and to make sure your kid has the proper equipment for his or her ability and size.

3 responses to “Tennis for Kids: The Right Equipment Makes a Big Difference When You’re Playing 10 and Under Tennis

  1. Tennis is also a great sport for kids because it can help them become discipline and also improve their fitness. You just need to give your full support if your kids are inclined to this sport.

  2. I can not figure out how do I subscribe to your blog

Leave a Reply

