Posted on

The Benefits of A Friendly Squash Game

I played my first real squash game a month ago. I’d heard of the game in college but I had no idea how to play. My husband and I headed to the gym with borrowed squash equipment. It was a little confusing to me at first. I didn’t even understand the squash balls, they’re practically dead and you have to roll them under your feet to warm them up. Overall, the game is like racquetball, with a few different rules and that non-bouncing ball. I really enjoyed that first experience and have tried to play regularly to this day.

One thing I like about this game is that it moves very fast and is a really good cardio workout. It does not feel like a workout because you have to focus on the strategy and tactics of the game. It did not take that long to learn how to play squash, by the end of our first session I had it down pretty well. It was not long before I went ahead and bought squash equipment and balls of my own.

As a beginner, I used squash balls that had a lot more bounce in them but I have moved on to a more challenging, firmer ball. There are different levels of bounce in the different styles of squash balls which helps make the game easier for those with less experience. It is a lot easier to play with someone about your same skill level or a bit better who uses the same equipment as you. The game becomes very challenging playing a highly skilled player and using their balls with less bounce.

One thing about squash equipment I learned is that goggles are almost imperative. Eye protection should be a top priority considering the swinging rackets and speed of the ball. You will get in the other players way and you will swing the racket close to each other. With a few precautions though, the game is as safe as any other pick-up sport.

I would absolutely recommend this sport to anyone interested in trying something new. At least ask someone who plays to let you join in a squash game. It is a great workout, is quite strategic, and is inexpensive to play. Best of all, you can burn up to 1400 calories in just one hour! It may take a while to get really good, but it does not take long to learn how to play squash.

Leave a Reply

